About Our Board

Our Mission

Healthy Marathon County is a community catalyst to improve the health of Marathon County residents through individual, organizational, and community involvement.

Our Vision

Marathon County will be the healthiest county in the state of Wisconsin.

Contact Us

Jeffrey Gress

Board President


Joan Theurer

Marathon County Health Officer



Board Members

Brooke Davis

Board Member

Organization: D.C. Everest School District



Brooke is a member of the Board of Directors, and represents the education sector. As a school counselor for DC Everest Junior High School, Brooke works daily with students in areas related to academic progress, behavioral issues and emotional concerns. Brooke also works with the school district and community leaders on programs to support the needs of our students.

Katie DivelyKatie Dively

Board Member

Community Member



Katie serves as a community representative on the Healthy Marathon County Board of Directors. Through her position with the Montana State University – Center for Health and Safety Culture, Katie provides support and guidance to communities and organizations engaging in strategies to improve health and safety.

Tara DraegerTara Draeger


Organization: Aspirus Wausau Hospital



Tara is Vice-President of the Board of Directors representing the healthcare sector. She is Manager, Community Health Programs, for Aspirus, and is responsible for overseeing requirements related to Community Benefit for non-profit hospitals.

Sue GantnerSue Gantner

Board Member

Community Member



Sue serves as a community representative on the Healthy Marathon County Board of Directors. Additionally, she is a member of the Marathon County Board of Health, and works through both boards to promote Marathon County’s mission to be the healthiest county in the state.

Brad GastBradley Gast

Board Member

Organization: Northcentral Technical College



Brad represents the education sector as Dean of Continuing Education and Virtual College for Northcentral Technical College. He leads the College’s ongoing and adult education programs as well as all programs offered through virtual college.

Jeff GressJeffrey Gress


Community Member



Jeff is currently the President of the Board of Directors, and formerly served as Director of Human Resources & Employee Relations for the Wausau School District. In his role with the school district, Jeff lead, directed, and oversaw all aspects of human resources management and administration for a PreK-12 public school district with over 1,200 employees.

Brad JourdanBrad Jourdan

Board Member

Organization: Diagnostic and Treatment Center



Brad is a member of the Board of Directors representing the healthcare sector as the Director of Rehab Services for the Diagnostic & Treatment Center. As the co-Chair of Partnership for Healthy Aging (PHA), Brad actively supports the Health Needs of Aging priority.

Christin Keele

Board Member

Organization: Law Offices of Christin E. Keele, Inc.



Christy is a member of the Board of Directors, and is an Attorney/Guardian ad litem through her own law firm, Law Offices of Christin E. Keele, LLC. Additionally, she serves as Vice Chair for the Department of Social Services Board, and AOD Partnership Board.

Michael Loy

Board Member

Organization: North Central Health Care



Michael is a member of the Board of Directors, and is Chief Executive Officer for North Central Health Care. Additionally, he is a member of the Wausau Region Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, North Central Health Foundation, Inc., and Wausau Early Bird Rotary Club.

Corina Norrbom


Organization: WIPPS – UW Center for Civic Engagement



Corrie is a member of the Board of Directors and represents the education and healthcare sectors. Corrie is the Health Policy Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Public Policy and Service (WIPPS), where her work focuses on community engagement and action around addressing the social determinants of health and development of Community Health Business Partnerships. Corrie also is a physician for the Aspirus Family Walk-In Clinic, and teaches at Medical College of Wisconsin-Central Wisconsin, and will be taking on the role of course director for the Scholarly Pathways – Physician in the Community course.

Nick O’Brien

Board Member

Organization: Community Member



Nick is a member of the Board of Directors, and represents the business sector. As Community Engagement Specialist for MCDEVCO, Inc., Nick’s objective is to connect and engage people with people and people with place within Marathon County. That role includes the promotion of our community’s assets, as well as the production of designed experiences to expose those assets to both community residents and others from around the rest of the state/country.

Jeff Sargent

Board Member

Organization: United Way Marathon County



Jeff is a member of the Board of Directors, and as Director/CEO of United Way Marathon County, unite peoples and organizations in Marathon County to build a stronger community, and strategically invest in health, education, and financial security priorities to improve lives now and into the future.

Shepherd, Lori L MDLori Shepherd MD

Board Member

Organization: Community Member/Board of Health Liaison



Lori is a member of the Board of Directors, and serves as a community member. As a pediatrician with Marshfield Clinic, Lori works with well and special needs children in the community. Lori also serves as liaison and member of the Marathon County Board of Health.

Jen SmithJennifer Smith

Board Member

Organization: Bridge Community Health Clinic



Jennifer is the immediate past president and nominations chair of the Board of Directors. As Executive Director of Bridge Community Health Clinic, Jennifer is accountable for strategic direction, Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) programmatic and 330e grant requirements, and Board development/management.

joan-theurerJoan Theurer

Health Officer

Organization: Marathon County Health Department



Joan is the Health Officer for Marathon County, and a permanent member of the Board of Directors. As Health Officer, Joan provides leadership to ensure the Health Department carries out its mission, that is, to advance a healthy Marathon County community by preventing disease, promoting health, and protecting the public from environmental hazards.

Debi TraederDebi Traeder

Board Member

Community Member



Debi Traeder is a member of the Board of Directors, and works to support behavioral health and substance abuse issues in the community. Debi is Chair of Prevent Suicide Marathon County, providing information and training throughout Marathon County on mental health and suicide awareness and prevention.

Yauo Yang

Board Member

Organization: DC Everest School District & The Cross Church



Yauo Yang is a member of the Board of Directors, and works as Hmong Liaison for the DC Everest School District, as well as pastor of The Cross Church.  Yauo works to bridge the communication and culture between the school district and the Hmong community. At the church he leads spiritual support and growth of the congregation.


Laura Zelenak

Board Member

Organization: Marshfield Clinic Health System



Laura is a member of the Board of Directors, and represents the healthcare sector. As the Community Benefits Coordinator serving Portage and Marathon Counties, Laura coordinates Marshfield Clinic Health System support of community health initiatives with a focus on Alcohol and Substance Abuse, Behavioral Health and Chronic Disease Prevention.